How to Close a Cash App Account
Posted by Frank Gogol
If you go out with your friends or close acquaintances a lot, you might often want to split the bill. The Cash App has made that easy by allowing you to split any sum equally among friends or others and then pay each other. However, sometimes, for whatever reason, you might want to close your account. In this article, we’ll go over the process of closing your Cash App account.
Table of Contents
What Is Cash App?
Cash App is a peer-to-peer money transferring app. In short, you can send money to others or receive money using your bank account via the Cash App. It also allows users to request money from any person in their contact list who is also using the app. The app ties to your active bank account and issues a Cash App visa debit card as an optional feature. This allows you to use your Cash App account funds and even withdraw them from any ATM.
It is free to create a Cash App account, and once you do, you will be given a username of your choice called a $cashtag. Using that username, you can send/receive or request money from other Cash App users.
How to Delete Your Cash App Account
Before you delete your Cash App account, you need to make sure to transfer all your funds into your bank account.
Steps to transfer funds back to your bank account:
- When you log in to your Cash App account, you will see the general home page that allows you to send or request money from people.
- To the bottom, you will see the home icon. Press it, and you’ll reach the Cash App home page and find the “cash-out” button.
- Once you press that button, all your funds will be directly transferred to your linked bank account.
Steps to delete your Cash App account:
- Once you transfer all your funds to your bank account and have withdrawn your Cash App balance, you can delete your Cash App account.
- On the same screen where you selected the “cash-out” button at the top right, select the “profile” icon.
- A list of options will appear, then select the “support” link.
- When you press the “support” link, you will see a list of everyday help items. At the bottom, you will find an option labeled “something else.”
- When you press that, you will see a list of additional account options. Within that list, you will see an option called “account settings.” When you press that, you’ll move on to the account settings page.
- Once on the account settings page, you can delete your Cash App account by pressing “close account” and then choosing “close my Cash App account.”
Once you do, it will take you to a different page that explains exactly what it really means to close your account. Read it and make sure you understand everything. When you’re ready, press the “confirm closing account” button at the bottom.
Once you do this, your account will be deleted, and your $cashtag will become void. If anyone chooses to send that username any money going forward, they will receive an error.
How to Delete Cash App for Someone Who Has Died
If you wish to delete a loved one’s account, the process is exactly the same as deleting your own account as long as you know their password. If you don’t, you will have to contact Cash App’s customer care and explain the situation to them.
You need to have the bank account and other details of that person with you when you contact customer care to prove your claim.
Cash App Deletion FAQ
While the process of deleting a Cash App account is very straightforward, there are some things the instructions do not cover. So, we’ll try to address some of those questions here.
How Do You Delete Cash App From Your Android or iPhone?
Once you have deleted your account with Cash App, there are different ways to delete the app itself.
For Android, press and hold the app icon and then drag it onto the “recycle bin” icon that appears at the top. Or simply press uninstall when the app options pop up.
For iOS, press and hold the app icon until the app options pop up. Now press Remove App, and the next menu will give you the option of either deleting the app or removing it from your home screen. Pressing on Delete App will delete the app from your phone.
Can You Delete Your Payment History on Cash App?
No, you cannot delete your payment history alone on your Cash App. No one can see your payment history unless they log in. It is private information.
Cash App is a contact money transferring app that lets you send and receive money to people. While the app is a valuable tool for sending and receiving money quickly, if you choose to delete your account, you need to follow several steps to do so. Once done, you can easily uninstall the app from your phone.